added 'legacy' initialization vector text to man pages
authorMichael Rash <mbr@cipherdyne.org>
Tue, 2 Apr 2013 03:01:45 +0000 (23:01 -0400)
committerMichael Rash <mbr@cipherdyne.org>
Tue, 2 Apr 2013 11:47:20 +0000 (07:47 -0400)
doc/fwknop.man.asciidoc
doc/fwknopd.man.asciidoc

index c467b3d..10e39ba 100644 (file)
@@ -236,7 +236,11 @@ SPA OPTIONS
     The default is CBC mode, but others can be chosen such as CFB or OFB
     as long as this is also specified in the 'access.conf' file on the
     server side via the ENCRYPTION_MODE variable.  In general, it is
-    recommended to not use this argument and just use the default.
+    recommended to not use this argument and just use the default.  Note that
+    the string ``legacy'' can be specified in order to generate SPA packets
+    with the old initialization vector strategy used by versions of *fwknop*
+    before 2.5.  With the 2.5 release, *fwknop* generates initialization
+    vectors in a manner that is compatible with OpenSSL.
 
 *--hmac-digest-type*='<digest>'::
     Set the HMAC digest algorithm (default is sha256). Options are md5, sha1,
index 53dd686..76b9905 100644 (file)
@@ -353,7 +353,11 @@ directive starts a new stanza.
 *ENCRYPTION_MODE*: '<mode>'::
     Specify the encryption mode when AES is used.  The default is CBC mode,
     but other modes can be selected such as OFB and CFB.  In general, it is
-    recommended to not use this variable and leave it as the default.
+    recommended to not use this variable and leave it as the default.  Note
+    that the string ``legacy'' can be specified in order to generate SPA
+    packets with the old initialization vector strategy used by versions of
+    *fwknop* before 2.5.  With the 2.5 release, *fwknop* generates
+    initialization vectors in a manner that is compatible with OpenSSL.
 
 *ENABLE_CMD_EXEC*: '<Y/N>'::
     This instructs *fwknopd* to accept complete commands that are contained